Fulbright Scholar Program

Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program Catalog of Awards

Download PDF Download PDF
Fulbright Distinguished Scholar Award

Fulbright-University of Manchester Visiting Professorship (Humanities)

United Kingdom
Europe and Eurasia


Award Details
Award Activity

The Fulbright University of Manchester Visiting Professorship contributes to the intellectual life of the university through teaching, public lectures and curriculum development in any discipline within the Faculty of Humanities.

The University of Manchester is a university of world firsts and academic discoveries – from Ernest Rutherford splitting the atom, to creating the first stored-program computer.

Currently the university has three Nobel Laureates on its staff, more than at any other UK university, including Professors Sir Andre Geim and Sir Konstantin Novoselov, joint winners of the 2010 Nobel Prize for Physics for their revolutionary work with graphene.

The University is also home to the likes of multi-award-winning writer Jeanette Winterson (Professor of Creative Writing), renowned historian Michael Wood (Professor of Public History), and includes Benedict Cumberbatch CBE among its successful alumni.

Manchester is one of the world’s most popular, vibrant and multicultural cities: the birthplace of the industrial revolution, feminism and vegetarianism. Voted the most liveable city in the UK (Economist Intelligence Unit) for four years running, and the only UK city to feature in the New York Times list of places to visit (2015) – Manchester is an inspirational city.

Scholars selected for this award will be required to:
  • Advise and/or mentor students
  • Assist in faculty, curriculum, and/or program development
  • Conduct a professional and/or artistic project
  • Conduct a research project of the applicant’s choosing
  • Teach graduate and/or undergraduate courses designated by the host institution
  • Teach graduate and/or undergraduate courses of the applicant’s choosing
Award Length and Period

Six months

Grants may begin any time after September 1, 2022, but before April 30, 2023.


The University of Manchester: Manchester, England, UK.

Flex Option
Discipline Type
Only projects in the following disciplines will be considered
American Studies
Area Studies, non- U.S.
Art History
Creative Writing
Film/Cinema Studies
Gender Studies
History, American
History, non- U.S.
Literature, American
Literature, non- U.S.
Religious Studies
Areas of Interest

Applications are sought in disciplines and and all appropriate specializations within the University's Faculty of Humanities.The Faculty is made up of five academic schools, and an extensive number of research institutes.

Special Features

Scholars in the UK participate in a wide range of academic, cultural, and social events and benefit from a variety of additional opportunities provided by the Commission; see Special Award Benefits section for more details.

Application Deadline
Activity Type
Degree Requirements
Ph.D. (or other terminal degree) required
Career Profile

Awards are open to individuals who have more than seven years of experience in an artistic profession.

Mid-Career Academics

Awards are open to those who have been working in the capacity of a teacher or scholar for more than seven, and less than 13, years.

Senior Academics

Awards are open to those who have been working in the capacity of a teacher or scholar for more than 13 years.

Number of Recipients
Program Staff
Aferdita Krasniqi
Outreach and Recruitment Officer

Related Awards

United Kingdom

The rise of internet technology has transformed the daily lives of people across the world. From education and commerce to health care and national security, cyberspace touches on nearly every sector. As the internet has grown, however, its fragility and vulnerabilities have become evident:...

United Kingdom

The award will be offered to a U.S. Scholar who will undertake research at the British Library’s Eccles Centre for American Studies making intensive use of the Library's collections relating to North America (U.S., Canada, the Caribbean) for a period of six months. If available, the scholar may...

United Kingdom

This award allows a Scholar to conduct research in the their area of specialization at Cardiff University. Since 1883, Cardiff University’s world-leading scientists and academics have achieved prominence for their innovations, discoveries and advancements...