

Fulbright Arctic Symposium: Arctic Science, Policy, and Diplomacy

Thursday, October 27, 2016 National Academy of Sciences

Morning Session: 9:00 AM - 12:30 PM

Afternoon Session: 2:15 PM - 4:45 PM

8:30 am Registration and Coffee

9:00 am Opening and Welcome

- Morning Session Host Ambassador Mark Brzezinski, Executive Director, Arctic Executive Steering Committee
- Dr. Marcia McNutt, President, National Academy of Sciences
- Mary Kirk, Director, Office of Academic Exchange Programs, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, U.S. Department of State

9:25 am Science Priorities and Community Engagement

- Admiral Robert J. Papp Jr., USCG (ret.), Special Representative for the Arctic, U.S. Department of State
- Dr. John P. Holdren, Director, White House Office of Science and Technology Policy
- Okalik Eegeesiak, Chair of the Inuit Circumpolar Council with Arctic Youth Ambassadors Macy Kenworthy, Keemuel Kenrud and Carter Price

11:00 am Coffee Break

11:20 am Fulbright Scholar Panel 1

- Dr. Ross Virginia, Director, Institute of Arctic Studies, Dartmouth; Distinguished Co-Lead Scholar, Fulbright Arctic Initiative
- Dr. Mike Sfraga, Vice Chancellor, University of Alaska Fairbanks; Distinguished Co-Lead Scholar, Fulbright Arctic Initiative

Fulbright Scholar Research Highlights

Energy:

Dr. Laura Sokka, VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland Dr. Maria Tysiachniouk, Center for Independent Social Research, Russia

Water:

Dr. Øystein Varpe, University Centre of Svalbard, Norway Itty Neuhaus-Schuck, State University of New York at New Paltz

Health and Infrastructure:

Dr. Anne Hansen, University of Greenland; Aalborg University, Denmark

Dr. Trevor Lantz, University of Victoria, Canada

12:30 – 2:00 PM Lunch Break (lunch not provided)

Afternoon Session Host - Dr. Mike Sfraga and Dr. Ross Virginia

2:15 pm International Arctic Science Collaboration

 Dr. Kelly Falkner, Director, Division of Polar Programs, National Science Foundation

2:35 pm **Fulbright Scholar Panel 2** *International Cooperation in Practice - Fulbright Collaborative Projects*

Energy:

Dr. Gunhild Hoogensen Gjørv, University of Tromsø, Norway Dr. Bjarni Magnússon, University of Reykjavik, Iceland

Water:

Dr. Tamara Harms, University of Alaska Fairbanks Dr. Niels Vestergaard, University of Southern Denmark

Health and Infrastructure:

Dr. Susan Chatwood, Institute for Circumpolar Health Research, Canada Asli Tepecik Diş, Nordregio (Nordic Center for Spatial Development), Sweden

3:25 pm Fulbright Scholar Panel 3

Fulbright Arctic Policy Conclusions and Recommendations

Energy

Dr. Gregory Poelzer, University of Saskatchewan, Canada Dr. Noor Johnson, National Snow and Ice Data Center, Cooperative Institute for Research in Environmental Sciences, University of Colorado Boulder

Water:

Dr. Tom Arnbom, World Wildlife Foundation, Sweden

Health and Infrastructure:

Dr. Linda Chamberlain, State of Alaska Family Violence Prevention Project; University of Alaska Anchorage Gwen Holdmann, Alaska Center for Energy and Power

4:05 pm Policy Response and Next Steps

- Julia Gourley, U.S. Senior Arctic Official, Bureau of Oceans and International Environmental and Scientific Affairs, U.S. Department of State
- Mark Taplin, Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, U.S. Department of State
- Ambassador Mark Brzezinski
- · Dr. Mike Sfraga and Dr. Ross Virginia





